First 2 Weeks Report

I plan on doing a weekly report, but since our second week was short because of the Labor Day Holiday and a yard sale this week, we only schooled for 3 days. Since alot of what we did was review, I decided to lump the first 2 weeks together for my report.

I was really pleased with the amount we got done, considering we are just starting and my daughter is coming out of public school. She was excited to start, and everything went smoothly. Here’s some of what we did:

For math, we reviewed using the free samples of Math Mammoth worksheets. We would discuss orally, and then she would solve the problems. Math is her best subject, so she did very well with this. There were only a few things she had to be reminded about. Next week we will officially start Art of Problem Solving Pre-Algebra.

To give her an introduction to Logic, I got her a Perplexors workbook and she LOVES it.  She has been doing several of the puzzles everyday.  We also started One Hour Mysteries, and she has enjoyed that as well.

For History, we are starting with Ancient.  Our spine is K12 Human Odyssey Volume 1.  I was also going to use Streams of Civilization Volume 1, but I realized that trying to match up the two books, as well as any other supplemental books we will read, was just taking too much of my time.  I did, however, like the way that Streams of Civilization presented Evolution vs. Creation.  I am teaching my daughter from a Creation standpoint, but I also wanted her to understand that there are other beliefs, so I liked the way this presented both sides.  After that, we started learning about Mesopotamia and the Sumerians.  For our timeline, we are using the book and figures from Homeschool in the Woods.  I purchased the timeline figures on CD, so that I would have the most flexibility.  I got full sheet sticker labels to print them on (I copy & size them myself to get more on a page).  I noticed that after we cut them out and tried to place them in the book, the ink would start to smudge from the oils on our fingers.  My solution to this was to brush some Matte Modge Podge over the top before we cut them out.  It “seals” them and I you can’t even tell it’s on there.  Here’s a picture of the first page of our timeline:

For Science, I decided I wanted to start with review to make sure she has a solid base, so we are using BFSU Volume 1.  I purchased the $5.00 download and use it on the iPad.  This text is made for younger students, but works fine for review with older students at a faster pace.  We will then move on to something else, but I am not sure what at this point.  We have done a total of 4 lessons so far.

We also worked on Grammar (which she has never had beyond knowing a few of the parts of speech) and she did some of her Vocabulary Doodles.  We have not started any formal writing curriculum yet, because I want to get her more comfortable with grammar and vocabulary first.

All in all, a great first 2 weeks!

Categories: Weekly Reports | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

